all News

2022 Huntington Medal Award Goes to Wolfgang Fischer-Bossert

The Trustees of the American Numismatic Society have awarded the 2022 Archer M. Huntington Medal Award to Dr. Wolfgang Fischer-Bossert in recognition of his outstanding contributions to numismatic scholarship.

Dr. Wolfgang Fischer-Bossert.

Dr. Wolfgang Fischer-Bossert.

The award ceremony will be held on July 11, 2023 at 5:30 PM ET at the ANS headquarters at 75 Varick Street, Floor 11, in New York City. Following the ceremony, the event will feature the Silvia Mani Hurter Memorial Lecture by Dr. Fischer-Bossert, entitled “Displaced People and Numismatics: Greek Exile Coinages”, and a reception.

A renowned scholar in ancient numismatics and archaeology, Dr. Fischer-Bossert has published on a wide variety of subjects. He is well known for his studies of Sicilian and South Italian coinages, and his monographs, Chronologie der Didrachmenprägung von Tarent 510 – 280 v. Chr. (1999) and The Athenian Decadrachm (2008). Other recent monographs include Coins, Artists, and Tyrants: Syracuse in the Time of the Peloponnesian War (2017) and Bemerkungen zum griechischen Münzrelief (2020) . In more recent years, he has turned his attention to early electrum coinage, where he has published several important articles. His current major project, “Early Lydian Coinage and Chronology,” will present a full study of early Lydian coinage and examine the historical and archaeological context of the earliest coins.

Dr. Fischer-Bossert earned his PhD at the University of Bonn in 1994, and his master’s from the University of Tübingen in 1990. He has served as Research Fellow at the Austrian Academy of Sciences in the Institute for the Study of Ancient Culture since 2015. Previously, Dr. Fischer-Bossert worked at the German Archaeological Institute at Athens, and taught classics and ancient numismatics at the Free University of Berlin and at Vienna University. He is a regular speaker at conferences across Europe.

On the award, ANS President Ute Wartenberg said, “Dr. Fischer-Bossert is a scholar who does not shy away from the big subjects in our field, and his attention to detail and ability to handle mass data make his publications invaluable for other numismatic scholars. At the same time, his work is embedded in archaeological evidence and historical sources, which makes it critical to a wide group of disciplines.”

The Archer M. Huntington Award is conferred annually in honor of the late Archer M. Huntington, President of the ANS from 1905–1910, and was first presented to Edward T. Newell in 1918.

Nothing more to miss!

subscribe our newsletter here